A successful ‘first’ for Thirsk & Malton CLP. 

On Tuesday 22 September 33 members signed-in on Zoom to the Special General Meeting convened to consider nominations for the nine places for Constituency Party representatives on the National Executive Committee.

To go forward to the national ballot a member must be nominated by at least five CLPs.  All CLP members have a vote in the national ballot in which they can vote for whoever they wish amongst all the candidates.

In accordance with the rules set by the Thirsk & Malton Executive Committee fifteen candidates were put forward by the closing date of 18th September. At the meeting the nomination of Sandra Adams was withdrawn and those for Bodrul Amin and Mathew Blakemore were not seconded and therefore fell.

Brief statements were made in support of the twelve  properly proposed and seconded candidates to go into the online voting ballot. These were:- Luke Akehurst, Ann Black, Gemma Bolton, Yasmin Dar, Anne Henderson, Chaudhry Qamer Iqbal, Nadia Jama, our own Mick Johnston, Surinder Josan, Terry Paul, Laura Pidcock, Mish Rahman.

As Chair, David Yellen commented on how well the process of the On-line meeting had worked. He thanked those involved in getting the technology to work and particularly Mark White for conducting the proceedings so smoothly.

Voting was open to Members who were signed into the meeting, through the online Choice Voting system, by single transferable vote.  The ballot was held between Wednesday 23 and Saturday 26 September. The Choice Voting system automatically computed the votes.

The outcome is that Thirsk & Malton CLP have nominated: Luke Akehurst, Ann Black, Yasmine Dar, Chaudhry Qamer Iqbal, Mick Johnston, Gurinder Josan, Terry Paul, Laura Pidcock and Mish Rahman for the national ballot for CLP representatives in the NEC. All of these have received the minimum five nominations required and will therefore be in the all member national ballot in October.


Government Proposal to Abolish District Councils:   On-line Workshop Wednesday 30th September 7.00 – 8.00pm

Central government wants local government in York and North Yorkshire to be reorganised and simplified. The current “two-tier” system involves North Yorkshire County Council and the seven District and Borough Councils, which include Scarborough, Ryedale and Hambleton. The responsibility for delivering services is currently split between the County and District/Borough Councils.

The government wants this replaced with a unitary, or “one-tier”, system, with new Council(s) providing all the services to the citizens in their boundaries. This would mean an end to the existing District and Borough Councils.

North Yorkshire County Council are proposing a single unitary authority to cover all of the County except City of York which, under their plan, would remain as a separate unitary authority. The District and Borough Councils, on the other hand, have plans for two unitary authorities to cover the east and west of the county, including York.

The Scarborough & Whitby Constituency Labour Party is organising an on-line (Zoom) information and discussion meeting on local government re-organisation in North Yorkshire. The meeting will be led by Steve Siddons, the Leader of Scarborough Borough Council. Scarborough/Whitby CLP has kindly invited members of Thirsk and Malton Constituency to attend.

This meeting is open to Labour Party members only and pre-registration is required. To register, please email jimpearse@icloud.com You will then be sent details of how to join in the Zoom meeting. 

More information about the District and Borough Councils’ plan is available here: https://www.get-change-right.com and information about the County Council Plan is available here: https://www.northyorks.gov.uk/stronger-together

Thirsk & Malton CLP Exec is calling on the Party’s North Yorkshire Local Government Committee, on which we are represented, to broker a unified Labour & Trade Union response and to adopt the following criteria in assessing options: Quality of service to the public, Greenness, Protection of Council workers.

Best wishes, Anne Seex Assistant Secretary of Thirsk & Malton Constituency Labour Party     anneseex@icloud.com

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search